Mm, birthday cake. I like cake.
11:52 a.m. on 2003-04-04


Mm, have come down from post-birthday high now.

It's kind of sad, taking down all the cards, putting the presents in their new homes. I want them to stay up for a month at least! LOL. Ho hum.

I had a very nice birthday though, the best one I've had since I was maybe 12. Saturday I went out to the Lowry centre with dad and Linda, where they bought me my birthday presents - a pair of walking boots and a fleece for my trip to SA. I know my parents wanted to get me a piece of jewellry for my 21st, something 'I could look back on and remember', but I put my foot down. Besides, these come with a lifetimes guarantee, so I can look back on these!

Saturday night The Girls came round and we had a Greek meal - cooked by Linda - and slightly too much wine. Since I don't drink, 3 glasses and I'm anybodys. Pitta bread and dips, then sausage in a butterbean/tomato sauce, then moussakka and finally choc torte. Mm.

Sunday me, the Girls, and my mum and Mike went off to the otter sanctuary up near Chapel-en-le-Frith. Yes, I know this is a strange way to spend one's 21st, but I was reliving some childhood memories, okay?!! The great thing was the place hadn't changed. Lots of otters and owls, often munching on the body of a dead chick. Mmm.

Then a pub lunch - where my mother embarrassed me by getting the waitress to bring a cake over and sing happy birthday - and then off home for relatives and a small girly night with Claire. Ooh, but my mum made the cake. She used to do that when me and my sister were little. Two big slabs of chocolate sponge held together with large quantities of chocolate buttercream and covered in Smarties. I finished it off last night.... mmm.

I got lots of lovely presents, including (of course) the Avril tickets, and a make-up/photo session from my Mum, the results of which will be posted on here once I get it done. Oh, and I also got a birthday card from Sandra, it's so lovely:

Mr Birthday card from Sandra!

This week I'm supposed to be doing my dissertation. Have suddenly realised I have only 3 weeks until I'm back at uni and the plan was to have it finished by then. But ho hum, I'm not working anymore so in theory I don't have anything else to do. Ignoring the Popular website, which I keep getting drawn back to. Oh, and the Faculty fic, for which the lovely Polly has drawn a front cover. She is so sweet and SO talented! Check it out:

The Front Cover to Faculty 2

And finally.... Leslie Cheung died this week. Star of Hong Kong films and music, one of Chris's heroes and a very talented guy. It's a very sad loss.

As is Chow Yun Fat in Bullet Proof Monk, but for entirely different reasons...

Listening to: The Best of Elvis Costello, a collection my sister got me for my birthday. Thank you!

Quote: "Always cover up your belly or your kidney will get diseases." - my grandad to Claire

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton