The History of the World on Ice
6:35 p.m. on 2004-01-01


I was going to be all cynical over New Year, and simply post the lyrics to My Life Story's 'The History of the World on Ice' in this entry. But I can't find them. And I can't be arsed transcribing them. So.. yeah.

Last night was spent very enjoyably, in the company of The Girls plus Craig (who is becoming an honourary girl anyway, not that I'd ever tell him since I'd rather not shoot his self-esteem down into flames, lol) at a local pub, co-ran by Hayley's parent/step-parent. Much music and a Pop Idol wannabe female singer ensued. But she was pretty good! If we ignore the screaming she chose to finish 'Phantom of the Opera' with.

Odd choice, that. Even without the screaming. You know it's bad when the landlady goes over to ask the singer nicely to turn it down a bit.

Today I was in HMV. Like every other day. I quite enjoyed myself, because although there were few staff in, there were few customers too, which gave me ample opportunity to indulge the Monica Gellar who lurks inside of me and TIDY.

I think the creation of the alphabet must go down as the greatest achievement of man - not because it enabled us to create a language and to process the written word, but because now we have a sensible system for filing our DVDs and CDs. Imagine if we didn't! They'd be filed under Drama, and TV, and Musicals, and all higgledepiggledy and I'd go insane!

Higgledepiggledy. Bet you've never seen that word written down before. A wonderful word, it performs much better spoken than on paper. Rather like 'disconbombulated.' I'm reading 'Dude Where's My Country' and saw Michael Moore had slipped the word into a paragraph. Wow. Any man who can actually make that word useful demands automatic respect.

Listening to: Erin McKeown "Blackbirds"

Quote: "I'm not a fascist. I'm a priest. Fascists dress up in black and tell people what to do. Whereas priests...More drink!"



<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton