A week in the life of me
5:24 p.m. on 2003-10-02


Rather an active week, this one.

Well, no, I don't have a job yet. But I have sent off application forms! Honest! And my various referees were only to happy to help, which was somewhat of an esteem boost. Go efficient worker me!

But regardless of this, in terms of "the manner in which I have spent my free time", I have done pretty well. The only tv I have watched all week has been one episode of the Simpsons and, of course, SG1. I think I should be impressed with myself. Plus, I have been busy. Well, busy for me. Out having lunch with Louise on Monday, out visiting grandparents on Tuesday, pub quiz with Claire and Hayley on Tuesday night, coffee with Hayley on Wednesday, grandparents and cleaning the house, plus various odd jobs on Thursday, night classes Thursday evening, then Friday is to be spent shopping with my mum in B&Q and Ikea so I can begin to decorate my room. Woo-hoo!

I really should write something though - I haven't put pen to paper since I got off the plane in Manchester last Friday. Bad me!

Have also been busy putting about 12 rolls of holiday film in a couple of albums. Photos look so much better when they are under glossy plastic. There are some really nice ones of my whole group, which at some point I will scan and show to the world. Whether the world likes it or not.

Have discovered one thing this week. Borders exists in a different space/time dimension.

For those of you who don't know, Borders is a chain of very large book/dvd/cd stores, of which there is one in my local area. It also contains a Starbucks. Hayley and I went for coffee there recently, only to emerge blinking into the daylight to find we'd wasted over two hours there and only had a LOTR bookmark and a magazine to show for it.

Still, it is nice to be *active.* Not that I wasn't active in South America, of course. Its just, I am more active now than I have been in holidays from university. Perhaps this is because I am developing a guilt complex over my unemployed status.

Somewhat unjustifiably, I think, given that it was only a week ago that I returned. Seems so strange to think that I was in the Atacama desert only a matter of days ago. It seems like a lifetime - or more, like it happened to someone else.

Fortunately, have had an email from Chris saying "of course, you can come stay with me whenever!" Huzzah for Hong Kong! Now if I can just get a job to pay for the trip...

Listening to: Sarah Michelle Gellar - Walk Through the Fire

Quote: "Go ahead, shoot me. It'd be a hell of a lot easier than getting out of this snowsuit."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton