Covered in paint! And smelling of toffee.
9:15 p.m. on 2003-11-03


Well, the decorating of my room is finally coming on apace. Having painted over the gaping cracks in the plaster with a nice white, the wall has now been coloured a beautiful shade of, uh, cream.

Actually, it's exactly the same shade of cream as toffee flavoured yoghurt. And in a strange, sick coincidence, the paint smells the same as toffee flavoured yoghurt. I'm not sure for which item I should be more worried - that I'm eating yoghurt that could be paint, or that I could be painting my walls with fermented cow juice.

Went to York at the weekend. Yay! I love York. Funnily enough, I first went there with an American, my friend Betsy who is one of the loveliest people you could ever hope to meet. I think one of the things I love about her, and that makes her unique, is her ability to be a kid whenever she wants to. So last time I went to York with her, and Pet(er), we went to the Yorvick Viking Museum and played dress up with the fabrics provided (supposedly to look like Vikings but, at least in Pet's case, like some sort of very poor drag queen).

The point is, she doesn't see why she should stop enjoying herself just because she's technically "an adult" now. I mean, if dress-up makes you laugh, then why not? Why stop yourself because it's not considered the mature thing to do?

So here is a short list of kiddy things I love to do, and will continue doing even if I'm 80 years old and possess a bus pass.

Kicking through piles of dry leaves; tasting snowflakes on my tongue; blowing bubbles; putting up fairy lights; pulling faces in front of the mirror; dancing around my bedroom; riding on ponies and carts; eating candy floss; wearing big chunky jewellery; exhibiting excitement by jumping up and down and clapping frantically; playing with the adjustable seats in cinemas; cramming as many Smarties in my mouth as is physically possible; licking out yoghurt pots (not toffee ones)... and yes, playing dress-up.

Yes, I am 21 years old. I am officially an adult. Which means I'm old enough to behave like a kid and NO ONE can tell me not to.

Listening to: Thea Gilmore - People Like You

Quote: "I never even knew myself until today, now my life's a newspaper with some pages blown away"

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton