Hot springs and salsa.
11:09 a.m. on 2003-08-06


Azuba! I think. It means happiness. It is a word from salsa, the catchphrase of Celia Cruz, and it is pretty much how I am feeling right now.

I am in Banos, which is a little village nestled at the base of a volcano whose name I can't even begin to spell. The people are wonderfully friendly and the whole place is infused with life and vitality.

We arrived yesterday after a slightly insane busride. The bus system in Ecuador is, um, unique. The drivers only go as far as they feel like going before they turf you off the bus and onto someone elses. They drive at very fast speeds with someone stood in the doorway yelling out the destination to people stood on the streets. There are no bus stops, other than the bus stations - passengers just get on and off whenever, frequently whilst it is moving. As do various people selling fruit, ice cream or water. Got a bit worried when my rucksack was tied to the roof but otherwise it wasn't too bad.

Spent last night in a salsa bar playing pool against some Ecuadorian locals, and learning how to dance from our guide Carlos. I think I have just about got the hang of it! And I got quite excited when a Celia Cruz song I actually recognised came on.

And I have been shopping! Bought a wonderful knitted hat complete with ear flaps to embarrass my friends with back home. And a bag. And a small lizard carved from vegetable ivory.

Today its off for a short hike and then we will luxuriate in the hot springs of Banos. Then tomorrow its another long bus ride to Cuenca.

Listening to - Sarah McLachlan Gloomy Sunday

Random thing - beating Ecuador 4/1 in pool.

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton