Rants and meanderings
1:34 p.m. on 2004-10-06


Urgh. It's the first day of THAT time of the month.

I'm late, possibly because I spent the last week of my holiday going: "Please don't let it start now. Please don't let it start now. At least let me get out of the jungle. At least let me get to the beach. At least let me get to the airport."

Now I'm about half an hour in. Stomach cramps are being masked by a couple of aspirin (more pills on top of the anti-malarials I took this morning. That can't be good for anyone). My blood sugar has plummetted, prompting a trip to the shop. My legs ache and my hands are shaking. I've spent money on needless food items - 60p on a box of Pringles (60p! On, like, ten crisps! That's ten pence a crisp!), 80p for a cup of tea I could have made myself, but couldn't be arsed. I know that about twenty minutes after drinking the tea, I'll have to rush to the loo, my bladder having shrunk to the size of a fromage frais pot. And, although as yet I haven't started cursing the world and everyone in it, growling at every man I see and hissing at every woman, it can only be a matter of time.

Was that all too much information?

Meanwhile... was walking through Market Street, in Manchester yesterday lunch time, and realised something. I'm suffering from culture shock.

A little, anyway. Suddenly there seems to be so many people, and they're all so busy and cold. The world is grey, and cold, and concrete. Children don't wave at every white face, I don't have to run through groves of palm trees incase a coconut falls on my head, and I almost sprayed DEET on myself last night until I remembered that the only thing that will bite me here, is probably a flea.

Weird. I spent two months in South America, but came back and the transition was easy. Maybe because I was ready to go back, I wanted to go back. I was looking forward to seeing home.

But I'd have been quite happy to have stayed travelling for a couple more weeks. Maybe not Sri Lanka, since I think I saw everything I wanted to see. But I could have flown to Thailand and continued travelling there. That might have been nice.

Next holiday, I guess.

Oh, and I have a new job! I finish my current job on the 1st November - something I'm a little sad about, because I love the people I work with, but I'm ready to move on - and start my new job on the 2nd. Which I'm both looking forward to, and apprehensive about. I imagine the fear will begin to grow the nearer the date gets, but that's usual.

As for my holiday... I'll tell you some snippets from it. Not now, since it's the end of my lunch hour. But at some point.

Listening to: Oasis "Electric"

Quote: ""I love it when actors get beat up. They don't get beat up in movies any more. It's not politically correct."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton