Short explanation and recap
8:42 a.m. on 2004-10-09


Sometimes I forget that people actually read this randomness. I particularly tend to forget that people I know read this crap ('know' being used in its official sense, in describing all those people I am friends with or am related to or in somewhat interact on a daily basis. And not in it's unofficial sense, to describe various lovely people I only know over emails or forum posts).

Anyway... my dad said he thought my post on the Sri Lankan massage was funny. "Well written comical humour." Or something along those lines. It made me feel warm and fuzzy, anyway. The best compliments I will ever recieve will come from my dad, simply because he's my dad, and therefore has earned the role of supreme critic.

My stepmum (btw, hello Jason!) said she'd missed that post, but had read my post on marriage, and then started preaching to me about how I shouldn't be so cynical towards relationships.

That isn't what the post was supposed to be about. I wasn't supposed to be attacking marriage per se; more the stupid romantics who hark back to an era of "happily ever afters", an era which never existed. I was trying to argue that the concept of marriage as a romantic ideal is stronger now, due to the prolification and availability of divorce, than it ever has been.

But me being me, and a lunch half-hour being what it is, it came out rather garbled and, inevitably, sounding like yet another rant by me on the nature of relationships.

Suffice it to say... the actions of some people can make me smile. The actions of others can make me want to punch holes through plaster walls. Yes, forum, I'm looking at you.

Listening to: Tom Waits "Blue Valentine"

Quote: "If you do have this party, Josh will show up. He has to save face. And there you'll be, ready to spin him around on the dance floor so he'll get a good look at what he's in danger of jeopardizing. He'll apologize for his flirtation with social retardation, kiss you, and order will be restored. Reunited, and it feels so good."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton