Pub quizzing at the Crown
1:50 p.m. on 2004-03-10


Last night was the pub quiz.

Perhaps I should explain a little. Basically, Hayley's stepmum is running a small local pub and has dragged Hayley's dad along for the ride. Now the only time Hayley sees her dad is at the bar. Hence, on Tuesday nights, a group of us turn up to form the 'Barely Naked Ladies,' our quiz team.

Hmm. Some nights I suspect our comedy name is the only thing going for us.

The quiz is run by a very lovely lady whose name, irritatingly, I have currently forgotten. She's a local 'figure,' known as posh and intelligent, but not in that devastatingly intimidating type way that some people have.

The questions are, um... well... some of them make sense. I mean, stuff like "The currency of Libya" or "the name of the shadow agriculture minister" make sense. Ones like "In what year was the paperclip invented" do not.

So I'm *slightly* exaggerating. But not by much. However, even more worrying that these questions is certain people's ability to answer them. One team in particular insist on winning every week (very selfish of them), gaining ridiculous points by displaying their indepth knowledge of all the things that usually filter straight through normal people's brains.

CHARLOTTE! Sorry. That's the woman's name.

Sorry.

Anyway.... yeah... The plus of the pub quiz is that I get to spend time with Hayley, Claire, and if they can join us, Olivier and Phil. There are free chips, and cheap drinks. Of course, the down side is constantly losing, the fact that I tend to fall asleep around half ten, and...

Hayley. Yes, you know who you are! Hayley is one of those people who will jump up and down and try to compete with another person in ANYTHING. She is the most competitve person EVER, and therefore SHE WINS.

Seriously. And when her and Olivia team up its even worse, a double act of competitiveness that's enough to drive that big guy from Celebrity Fit Club insane.

Hunching down over the answer sheet, refusing to share any knowledge with the team next door, despite them being blood relatives, and even... don't deny it Hayley!... battling for control of the pen.

Oh yes.

But it's all fun. This is who Hayley is, I love her for it, and I'd never want her to change.

Besides... since she's the one who puts down most of the answers... and I'm crap... I'm not gonna push it!

Plus she'd sit on me if I pissed her off. LOL.

Quote: "My ass is not pansy."

Listening to: Barenaked Ladies: "If I had a million dollars"

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton