If I kill him quick, is that an act of kindness?
8:24 p.m. on 2005-08-11


... in the words of Tori Amos.

So....

I really dreaded going into work today, but I have a tendancy to build things up too much and sure enough, today was fine. Boring, but fine.

However, my feelings of insecurity and depression have now been blanketed over with a mild dose of rage.

I recently applied for two positions within the company in which I work. One was a six month placement, the other a permanent position. I had a rejection letter for one, but the letter did not make it clear which. Then I return to work this morning to discover that the permanent position has been filled and that interviews for the temporary position were held yesterday.

This isn't what pisses me off. Neither is it the discovery that I wasn't the only person in my office to go for the jobs. Another girl did, a girl in a higher position to me, who has more knowledge than me, and who has been there several years longer than I.

Had she been picked over me, I could understand it. It would make sense.

However, thanks to some inside knowledge we have discovered that it is quite likely our applications were blocked from ever reaching the required department by our lovely boss.

So now of the two positions, one has gone to a person I know is inexperienced, who makes mistakes, who has been there only as long as I have and who has no knowledge of the role (whereas in my office, we do). The other role is between two people: one is an idiot, and the other, although a person for whom I hold certain respect for, has no knowledge of the role either.

And here I'd like to remind the audience that I was alerted to this vacancy by the very person to whom the role assists.

I swear, the only thing keeping me returning to that frikkin' place is the knowledge that sometime between now and March, I'm handing in my notice. The only question is which comes first: a new job or that volunteer trip to help elephants in Thailand.

Or something.

At least I have something pretty coming my way soon.

Pretteh!

Listening to: Badly Drawn Boy

Quote: "Well isn't that just the pickle on the giant crap sandwich that is my day."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton