City streets and soundscapes
6:57 p.m. on 2004-11-11


There should be a proper entry. But I can't, because too many people read this thing. And damn it, I put the site on my CV as an example of my design skills (*snort*).

I'm tired.

On the plus side, it's almost Christmas. The lights are turned on in Manchester this weekend, which means I'll return home every day surrounded by soft glows, shadows, and the smell of mulled wine from the German market which always opens in St Anne's Square around this time of year.

I love Manchester at night, all lit up.

It's strange how much music can shape your emotions. It does to me, anyway. I can walk home with my Ipod plugged into my ears, and the voice of Gene Kelly singing "Les Girls" filters through. Suddenly I'm in a Broadway musical, Manchester is the New New York, and I'm skipped over the pavement. One track later and the city becomes moody and oppressive, buildings towering above me, now threatening thanks to the snippets of a Ghost in the Shell track. Tom Waits brings gritty streets to life, lonely thoughts and deep sexy flirtation. Montgomery Gentry bring cheer and a daft buzzing feeling, a desire to grin at the train conducter or the guy behind the counter in Sainsburys.

And William Shatner singing Pulp's "Common People?"

That just makes me giggle. A lot.

Listening to: Nancy Sinatra

Quote: "In case you haven't noticed, I'm an extremely arrogant person who thinks ALL of his plans will work!"

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton