Firefly rambles. Joss Whedon, you bastard!
12:59 p.m. on 2005-10-12


Am in the middle of an SGA fic, about to plough into the action-packed finale. Writer's block has hit, and instead of plugging at it, I am considering adopting a bunny that was put up for adoption at an SGA community I post at. It's a kid-fic, which is a genre I always thought I'd never write in, because 95% of kid-fic is shite, and I never thought I could live up to the remaining worthy 5%. I will drabble, and see what comes of it.

Meanwhile... watched X-Factor with The Girls on Saturday night. Hayley cooked, which is always nice, because she's an amazing cook. Her key lime pie is a thing of glory. Mm...

Went to see Serenity with Claire. This is... well... it's hard to be neutral. As a Firefly fan, the plot made near-instant sense of me, and I understood the complex relationships between the characters, their history and quirks. Although Whedon succeeded, I think, in explaining the basic plot, with such a large cast he could never hope to establish more than a handful of the characters in the minds of an audience member new to the Firefly universe. Reduce the cast, and you anger and alienate your core fanbase. Leave the cast as it is, and risk any emotional connection made between the audience and those characters. This division became clear when one or more of the character's lives are placed in peril - thrilling for the Firefly fan, but indifference from a newbie.

Still, this, and a few plot holes aside, I think it was a good movie - certainly the best sci-fi movie that's been seen in many years, and worth a look, if you're going to the cinema.

Listening to: Elvis Costello

Quote: "I'm not about to go to Texas and not ride the mechanical bull, Chelina. that would be like going to Los Angeles and not sleeping with Paris Hilton."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton