In A Mirror, Darkly
4:05 p.m. on 2005-07-15


Channel hopping last night, I caught the first ten minutes of a second part Enterprise episode, "In A Mirror, Darkly."

I haven't watched Trek regularly in years. Not since Deep Space Nine ended. Voyager had always been weak, and by season four I had switched off completely. As for Enterprise, well, I don't think I've ever sat through an entire episode.

But I still have a soft spot for it. It was, after all, the first science fiction show I ever watched, and although I now find TNG hopelessly outdated, and TOS entertainment for nostalgia's sake, I still adore Deep Space Nine and keep an idle eye on Trek news.

Watching In A Mirror... felt like visiting an old relative I hadn't seen in ages, and finding them frail and riddled with dementia, cared for in a home.

It was just... dreadful. From the gratuitous use of belly tops to improbable, chemisty-free sexual pairings; from the awful facial hair to the lack of character dimension, it was simple tripe. The acting was dreadful, although I do believe that Enterprise has the potential for a strong cast. I suspect the actors were attempting to rebel against the terrible script by playing up to the pantomine feel.

Y'know, I should feel sad that Trek is over. But some shows just deserve to get canned.

Meanwhile... new seasons of Stargate Atlantis, SG-1, and Battlestar Galactica start tonight. Not just the best science fiction, but three of the best shows on television at the moment (alongside Nip/Tuck, The Sopranos, and Scrubs).

*squees with excitement*

Meanwhile, back in real life... Still no luck on the job front. There is an application out there for a job I really want, but apparantly there's a lot of competition and I'm still in the queue. The Company continues to find new ways to screw its employees. This month it found a way to give us our salary bonus in such a way as to leave us with less than usual in our pocket.

In a strange, twisted way, that's almost impressive.

Listening to: Lata Mangeshkar "Naina Mere Rang Bhare"

Quote:
"I wonder who invented sex?"
"I think it was Madonna."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton