Strange feelings of responsibility
1:38 p.m. on 2004-10-15


Have just spent the last ten minutes trying desperately to track down a track heard on internet radio, on the basis of some misheard lyrics and the wrong band.

Yeah.

A Very Very Cool Opportunity Indeed has just arisen. Very cool. So much so that I'm very tempted to call off work sick just to bounce home and do something about it.

I won't, of course. Because I'm responsible and mature, and, uh, stuff.

My feelings towards my job are a little strange but shared, I know, by my fellow coworker Lizzy. The work itself is of reasonable interest. Data inputting, but with thought and concentration needed, since what is on the paper is not what we type onto the screen. The workload is insane. Not in terms of pressure, because although there are deadlines, our bosses have come to realise that not without doubling the workforce can they achieve the goals they set themselves when they, naively, began this project. But in terms of the sheer number of jobs to do.

Paperwork sits in piles around us. Neither Lizzy or I are paid enough to care, but we do. Perhaps it's because our bosses are so lovely, we want to do our best for them. Or perhaps it's simply due to my Monica instincts, an insane desire to tidy, to be on top of everything.

I will do my best to complete all unfinished tasks before I hand them over to Lizzy when I leave. I will worry about future orders, ensuring that the office is well stocked before I go. I'll leave my desk spotless and will have cleared all my computer files.

Still... I *have* just spent ten minutes looking for what, eventually, turned out to be a Feeder song. Which I probably won't buy.

But I'm on my lunch.

Honest.

Listening to: Barenaked Ladies "Elf's Lament"

Quote:
"We know that we've got leverage, so we'll hand the fat man a beverage
And sit back while we attack the utter lack of our enjoyment
It may be tough to swallow, but our threats are far from hollow
He may thunder, but if he blunders, he may wonder where the toys went
I make toys, but I've got aspirations
Make some noise
Use your imagination
Girls and boys, before you wish for what you wish for
There's a list for who's been

Naughty or nice, but consider the price to an elf!" - Barenaked Ladies


<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton