Salsa-ing the night away
1:37 p.m. on 2004-05-16


Went to a salsa club in Manchester on Friday night with my stepsister and her friend.

I was wearing The Little Red Dress. The one I bought from a clubby shop at the bottom of Afflecks, that clings to every curve and I can't wear a bra with. I look HOT. LOL.

First headed to a Japanese restaurant, which was, um, a bit of a mistake. Firstly we were half an hour late for our booking, which may explain the terrible service and withering looks we recieved.

Secondly... well... out of the three of us, I've had the most experience with Japanese food, and that consists of Marks & Sparks sushi and a trip to a Japanese restaurant (in Chili, of all countries). There are no defined 'starters' or 'main meals', and the waitress suggested we just pick a random selection and share.

So we did.

Except... except we never got plates. Which might be fine if all we had ordered was the dipped vegetables or the chicken-onna-stick. But the noodles proved more problematic... especially when you're eating them off a napkin...

Having made our (messy) exit from there, we headed to the club. Cheap entry, cheaper drinks, and a packed dance floor (but with enough room to actually, y'know, dance). Was impressed when the first song I heard was my favourite Celia Cruz track.

Took me about five minutes before I was asked to dance. Leaving Sarah and Rachel at the bar, I headed to the dance floor with a Guatamalen with bad English.

Interesting thing, salsa. I can merengue, learnt in Ecuador, but I have never had formal (or informal) salsa lessons. I assume what we were doing at the club was salsa, but it's hard to tell - every guy I danced with had a completely different style. The Guatamalen opted for the merengue-type style: hips pressed against each other, swaying with each other, rolling on our feet, up and down. The next guy was a cute black guy who said nothing to me all night - just beckoned me over with his fingers. His was a more convential style, although I'm not sure about the bit where we leant in opposite directions and sort of looked at each other whilst swaying. He did give me a couple of pecks on the cheek though.

The third guy opted for the 'try and rape a girl on the dance floor' approach. Latin American dancing requires all sense of inhibition to be left at the door - something neither Rachel nor Sarah could quite grasp. You have to dance pretty close with your partner. But this guy was pressing so damn hard against me it was hard to breathe. I pushed him off a couple of times, and he did back off a little, but after a couple of minutes tried it again. Hmm...

Fourth guy was the sweetest. And the youngest. But he was all about the spinning - spinning me, spinning me, and by the end of it, the entire room was spinning. And I was gonna throw up. LOL.

There was a fifth guy that asked me... but in a nasty aggressive way. Told him no, politely, and he turned evil, so I walked away.

Still... I danced a lot, got hot and sweaty, and had fun. Very important. Still have to convince Sarah that when a Latin American man asks you to dance, he doesn't (unlike British men) immediately want to pull you...

Listening to: The Twins. I'm gonna KILL Chris.

Quote: "I have killed thousands. I have killed proud young warriors and wise old rulers. I have killed mothers with babes in their arms. I have killed the just, the wicked, and the beautiful. I have done this for two thousand years in the service of His Divine Shadow and apparently the fun never stops!"

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton