Avoiding the dole queue
10:49 a.m. on 2003-10-18


My fingers are itching. I found a very nice pic of Elijah Wood that I'd quite like to use as a layout, and now I'm making designs in my head. Which is bad, since I don't have time to do the neccessary things on the internet at the moment, let alone any extra.

Anyways, had my very first job interview the other day. Technically I had my first interview when I was 16, for a job at an airline meals factory, but since they will employ anyone with the appropriate number of limbs it didn't really count.

The job was basically a clerical position at Manchester University. I would love to work there, if for no other reason than I get to be around students again yet without the pesky downside of having to be one.

Met three very nice ladies who chatted with me about South America, how I would handle an insane amount of work, what the job involved, why did I want to do it, etc etc. Standard stuff, aside from the South America bit. Oh, and the American lady's concern over her upcoming meal on American Airlines.

Then took a short data entry test, on which I made lots of mistakes, but then, not being familliar with the layout, I think that is understandable.

Still, I am beginning to suspect I won't get it. It went well, I thought, but that isn't a guarantee of anything. Besides, they probably think I'm overqualified, or something. Which is ridiculous. Every really good job out there requires experience, and that is something that a degree doesn't give you. But the jobs that don't ask for experience then assume that you are overqualified and unlikely to stick with the position.

Why is it so hard for people to believe that I enjoy clerical work? I enjoy tidying things. I could tidy things for a living.

Ho hum. At least I am on a concert rolll - going to see Thea Gilmore, Tom McRae, and Eddie Izzard in a matter of weeks. Woo-hoo!

Listening to: Otis Redding - Dock of the Bay

Quote: "Theatre is just for people who don't have a telly."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton