No mum, you're not getting any grandkids
1:16 p.m. on 2004-03-19


Was talking with Lou last night about taking bets on which one of the three remaining single Girls will get married first.

Louise's money is on Hayley, mine's on Claire. Either could be right, really. Hayley will literally be swept off her feet by a big burly fireman, whilst Claire will for many months, and unbeknownst to her, be the eyecandy of a quiet academic type boy, who will eventually summon the guts to ask her out, only for them to live happily ever after.

Meanwhile... apparantly Louise thinks I'll be the one who, at forty, will be on my third divorce.

I'll be a Ross!

I'm not hugely impressed by this, to be honest. True, Louise had a point when she argued that I have such a short attention span, I'd never stay with one guy for long. And true, I'm quite likely to get married on a whim, come back from one of my travels with a man in tow, "Oh yeah, we were in Vegas, it felt like the right thing to do at the time."

I'll do a Britney.

She also suggested that I am so desperate to find perfection in a man that no one will ever be good enough.

Here, she may also have a point. There aren't many men in my life that I've found genuinely attractive, although I've met many lovely boys who make great friends. When I do find a guy good enough, I then get bored. Takes me about, oh, a week, maybe two.

Trouble is... Louise can't be right on both fronts. I can't be endlessly searching for perfection, and yet also have a series of failed marriages. So which will it be?

Trouble is, not only am I not sure, but I have little idea what my ideal future would be. I'm not sure if a husband features. Kids certainly don't.

The only people I want to grow old with I already know. Next Saturday I'm celebrating my 22st birthday with them, and they're the only people I see being at my 72st.

After all, if I have The Girls, I don't need anyone else.

Listening to: Mandalay - Solace

Quote: "There is a curse. It says: "May You Live in Interesting Times."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton