Rambling again, Round the Horne styley.
2:01 p.m. on 2004-04-19


Quick note, since my lunch half-hour is about to finish.

Went to see Scooby Doo 2 at the weekend with Claire, but the times were mixed up (damn you internet site!) and we ended up seeing Shaun of the Dead instead.

Well, they both have monsters in, I guess.

After spending two hours giggling insanely, closing my eyes at the scary bits, and grossing out over the sight of Dylan Moran having his innards ripped out by a bunch of British zombies... I walked home.

My excuse for this is that I had just missed the last bus, of which there is one every hour. I reasoned that I could walk down the bus route, and pick up the next one.

There's a quote from somewhere which says that it is much better to travel than to stand still. It's sure as hell less conspicuous than standing at a bus stop for an hour.

(Hah! My stepmum asked me if I wanted to be a teacher. I can't stand at a bus stop for more than ten minutes without thinking that people are staring, so how would I cope with an entire class full of people who all HAVE to stare at me?!)

So I rambled back. Must be about three or four miles back to my house from the cinema, I should think. Not that far, but it takes a while. At one point I decided to take a short cut through a local valley, and rambled through fields, avoiding mud pools, dog walkers, and people.

Suddenly, I realised at that moment no one in the world knew where I was. Okay, so I wasn't far from home, but I was far enough from the streets as to escape traffic noise, or the onlook of neighbouring houses.

And if anyone had wanted to find me, they would have no idea where to look.

Why do I find that notion so liberating?

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton