I was so relaxed. And then I get spam
8:14 p.m. on 2004-10-20


Dear diary...

Am soooo sleepy.

Our team is split into two groups: us common-or-garden project assistants, in our room, surrounded by paperwork and filing; and the "higher powers", ie: the nurse, database manager, project manager, etc. (Note: this makes it sound like there is a power structure, but there really isn't. Officially, yes, but in reality everyone is equal. One of the reasons I love the people here.)

Due to an increased number of temp staff working as project assistants currently, there is a desk shortage, and since I "know what I'm doing" I've packed my bags and headed next door.

It's much more peaceful in this office. No radio - although I don't
mind the radio, lately its been replaced by a barrage of garage and grunge CDs (thanks to the temps), and the silence is now quite soothing. The atmosphere is relaxed, but quiet; a lot less chatting, but rather work carrying on at a gentle pace, everyone getting their jobs done, and stopping occasionally to offer tea or biscuits around. And there is no phone in here, so no pestering by nurses or calls from confused members of the public.

The only downside is that it's so relaxing in here, I'm quite ready to put my head down and have a nap. I could just dose off on this desk, resting my forehead on my arms, and dream of Atlantis and Stargate and Sri Lanka and various other stories and ideas currently drifting through my head.

*yawn*

Edited to add: How pissed am I? Recieved a package through the post today, from the MFPA, aka the Mouth and Foot Painting Artists. Basically this is an 'organisation' (not a charity, you notice, because presumably that would mean there'd be RULES they'd have to stick to) which does exactly what it says on the tin: it supports disabled artists who, unable to use their hands, paint with their feet or mouths.

Now aside from using some decidedly lurid and overly sentimental tactics which I'm sure do nothing for the rights or image of disabled people... it's a scam. In the package you get a bundle of eight Christmas cards, and a slip asking you to order more. Fair enough, I though, until I noticed the fine print: you're not just invited to buy MORE of the damn (and can I say, very ugly!) things, but you're asked to pay for the ones you've already been sent! These eight crappy christmas cards I haven't asked for, and don't want, and they're demanding �5.45 for them! And of course, there's no return address or method given for returning the cards if you don't want them!

I'm young, stubborn, and tight fisted. The only thing this company will be getting is the cards, ripped in half, sent back in the same damn envelope they came back in. But imagine this gets sent to a more naive soul. Maybe an elderly person. It only takes a few people to genuinely believe the demands, to send off their money for this piece of shit, and it makes it all worth while.

Hence them not being a registered charity. If they were, there would be someone I could write to, some legislation that could be brought about against this crappy company. Instead, I'm going to rant about them on here, in case someone else who has recieved the same package decides to do a Google search on the twats.

Grr. And I was in a good mood, too.

Listening to: Tom McRae "Line of Fire"

Quote:
Beckett (wistfully): "How come I never make friends like that?"
McKay: "You need to get out more."
Beckett: "We�re in another galaxy � how much more out can you get?!"


<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton