Meeting old friends
9:12 p.m. on 2004-11-21


The other night, talked to an old flame
He finally said why he'd moved on
He said I didn't have faith in anything
I knew he wasn't wrong...

Actually that's all bull. Well, apart from the first line. Well, not even that. But the lyrics sprang into my head.

I spent this afternoon in a bar in Manchester having drinks and nachos with an old friend from high school.

It's weird - only the other day I was thinking about her, wondering what she was up to, and then she texts me out of the blue. Which goes to show that one should never change your phone too often because you never know who may want to contact you.

It was nice. We chatted about life, about geekdom, about relationships. Well, she chatted about relationships - my part in that was pretty much limited to "Uh-huhs." She told me about her job as a special constable, "locking up scallies on a Saturday night" and confronting all sorts of scary situations of which I have no idea.

I felt so immature and naive. Childlike. Still living at home, in a job that, well, it isn't my life goal to be doing. No relationship. Not that it bothers me - it's just when you're listening to someone else talk about their feelings of finally being settled, it makes me feel... unsettled.

But it was fun. And hopefully I'll see her again soon. It's always a shame when you lose touch with old friends, and I hope I don't miss out on this second chance.

Listening to: Jill Sobule

Quote: "Fuck off bitchity-bitchity-bitch."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton