Let me tell you a story
1:29 p.m. on 2004-06-22


Having nothing of interest to put in this entry, I'm going to tell you about Ye Olde Famous Hare Man from Manchester.

It may be a rabbit. Opinions are divided.

Anyway... I was sat on the bus back from work a few months ago, my mind wandering (possibly into Christopher Gorham's personal space), my eyes looking out over Didsbury. The bus was crawling through Didsbury high street, as per usual, allowing me several good long stares at people down below (I sit on the top deck).

It was then that I saw him.

Hare man (or possibly rabbit).

A middle aged man, stood outside Marks and Spencers. A very average man, nothing calling him to my attention.

Except the animal he clutched in his hands.

Large, covered in fine brown hair, two oversized ears perked up brightly. A hare. Or maybe a rabbit.

Well I don't know the difference, do you?

Neither the man nor his rabbit seemed particularly bothered by the looks they were recieving from passersby. The man stood there, alone, the rabbit contentedly sat in his arms.

I told the people at work the following day. Lizzy proclaimed: "Hare man!" and explained to me that this unusual man had quite a following amongst her friends. They had seen him several times, the strangest being in a street in Manchester, at 3am in the morning, as they staggered out of a club somewhat pissed.

I saw him again a couple of weeks ago. In Didsbury once more, sat on a bench outside a pub, the rabbit sat on the table next to him. It was hopping a little way along its surface, whilst its ears were tickled by its owner. Again, oblivious to any curious onlooker, or the sticky finger pointed by a delighted three year old.

The most recent sighting came from Lizzy again. This time, her friends and herself were sat in a restaurant in the centre of Manchester, and across the street, on a table outside another restaurant, was the man and his rabbit.

Or hare.

I want to meet this man. I want to ask him questions, not about why he has a rabbit (hare), or why he chooses to take it seemingly all over Manchester. But whether he minds the stares of others, whether he knows he has now become the focus point for a 22 year old ex-student as she travels through Didsbury on her way home through work. Because, of course, I now actively look for him. And yet I suspect that when I look for him, I won't find him. As though he and the rabbit have mystical properties.

They never come when called. Only when needed, to remind me that there is still magic in the world, albeit a human-created one. That eccentricities can be a beautiful thing.

One day, I might take my cat for a walk down Didsbury high street, and see if I can meet the man and his rabbit.

Or hare.

Listening to: Billy Bragg - To Have or Have Not

Quote: "Der British is terrible cooks, thought Looney, they even burnt Joan of Arc." - Spike Milligan

PS: Further alternative siggy ideas: Elvis? George Bush? Kermit the Frog? Les Battersby (preferably wearing the genie outfit from last night)?

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton