Butterflies? More like elephants.
9:29 a.m. on 2003-07-22


This time in a week I'll be in South America.

You know that Simpsons episode where Homer wins the family a free plane flight to anywhere, and they discover Marge is afraid of flying? The scene where she's running from one end of the plane to the other screaming: "LET ME OUT LET ME OUT LET ME OUT LET ME OUT LET ME OUT!"

That's me.

It's not that I'm nervous. Scared shitless would be a more appropriate term. But I'm feeling fairly organised - I've got all my travellers cheques in small denominations, I've got all my clothes in the rucksack, I've got all my various bits and pieces to prevent me from getting bitten by mosquitos or freezing to death up Macchu Picchu...Nevertheless, two months in a very foreign place with no easy way home spending all my time with eleven people I don't know? I think I have a right to be a little nervous.

In other news... well, there is none. No doubt when I return I'll start buying up all the local papers searching for a job. I'll print out endless copies of my CV and send out hundreds of application forms for jobs I don't really want. And I'll pester the BBC and Granada until one of them gives in and allows me to work for them.

Oh, and I'll continue writing. Thanks to some inspiration (and some excellent contributions) from Claire I'm on a roll, development wise at least. Still needing some actual plot.

To your right you will see a link to page detailing my CD collection. Okies, so no one is really interested but it makes things easier when people ask: "What sort of music do you like?" and the answer is "Everything."

Still waiting for college to give me my security deposit back. They only had to slightly repaint my bathroom! Plus I need the money to cover my last trip to HMV - two CDs and a box set of Babylon 5, season one. It was on offer! Um... yeah.

Listening to: Dar Williams' The Christians and the Pagans

Quote: "There are no straight men. There are just men who haven't met Orlando Bloom."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton