Lazy saturday afternoons watching MacGyver
6:27 p.m. on 2004-10-23


Sarah McLachlan rocked.

Short but sweet. She did. The largest backing band I've ever seen one singer/songwriter possess, but still managing to hold her own (for the most part), displaying that incredible voice. Seriously, how is it possible for one woman to have such a huge range? When she launched into "Fear," my favourite Sarah song and the one that started my love of her, I worried that she wouldn't hit the high notes, that her live rendition would spoil the attachment I have to the song. But I needn't have stressed. She was amazing. Almost as good as the lighting guy, who was in danger of distracting my attention from the actual music with a very cool, slightly trippy light/slide show throughout the gig. Although it's a little cheesy to have a close of the flaming sun whilst Sarah sings the lyric "World on fire." Yeah, GCSE level art, that.

Amazing.

Have done little all day. Saturday afternoons are spent in *mostly* silent companionship with my sister. The pair of us lounging on the sofa, watching crap tv (I forced her to watch MacGyver so she took revenge with not one, but two episodes of Extreme Makeover, me scoffing at a packet of crisps she'd bought me, whilst she whined at me to make her a cuppa.

I like the time I spend with her. It's not like we bond, sharing special secrets, fears, desires with each other. We don't have conversations about men (well, it would be a little one-sided for a start) or our jobs, or friends. We live, for the most part, in two entirely separate worlds.

But I know, just from those lazy Saturday afternoons spent together, that if I ever needed her, really needed her, she'd be there in an instant. And I'd do the same for her.

Listening to: Butterfly Boucher. Formerly known as 'Joan.'

Quote: "Did you know that Billy and Dom were homosexual lovers for most of the filming? Apparently, at a party in Wellington, they 'discovered' each other. The noise was, allegedly, horrendous. They do spend rather a lot of screen time missing each other and emoting. Good luck to them, I say� - Bernard Hill

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton