Bounty. The taste of paradise.
9:26 p.m. on 2004-12-23


Please note, I'm only writing this entry because I feel obligated.

I haven't written in a while. Haven't written anything meaningful in an even longer while.

Not sure why. Perhaps because I don't want to fall into a rant about things I can't control, or worse, about things I can control but choose not to.

Perhaps because I'm tired. Getting up at 5.45am everyday can really do a girl in , you know?

Perhaps because I don't have anything to say. Nothing interesting or deep. No philosophy is about to be spouted. No amusing anecdote or thoughtful reflection.

I bought some banana crisps today.

No, wait! Come back. There's a point to this. The point is... the first time I had banana crisps was on fourth day in South America. In Ecuador, in the jungle, on our arrival in the jungle lodge. We'd been travelling for several hours, first by small plane, then by road, then by engine-powered boat, and finally by canoe. We were tired, sweaty, and apprehensive about the two month long trip we were about to undertake together.

Our canoe rolls out from under a jungle canopy and we see paradise.

There's no other word for it. If I die, and there's a heaven, and I'm good enough to go there, then that's where I'm stopping.

La Selva.

Okay, so the website makes it look a lot less romantic than it was. But it was.

Anyway... to greet us upon our arrival, the lodge had prepared a small buffet. Some strange, slightly alcoholic cocktail made from a local jungle fruit (possibly a jungle tomato. Which tastes nothing like a tomato. But is quite nice, actually). Odd biscuity things. And banana crisps.

If you find some of these then try some. I don't like banana normally, but dry them, and they come across as quite tasty, a little salty, with a delicate flavour that... well, I like them.

I found a packet in Boots today. An impulse buy.

Stood in the centre of Manchester, cold winter wind biting, the bustle of late Christmas shoppers around me, a few drops of heavy Manchester rain ready to fall... and I taste a little bit of Ecuadorian paradise.

Listening to: DJ Krush "Milight"

Quote: "Who am I? I'm Olo. Hans Olo."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton