There were a lot of blondes in ancient Greece...
12:30 p.m. on 2004-05-24


Ow. Just trapped my thumb in the drawer of my desk and it hurts. Damnit.

Was going to use this moment to mention Michael Moore's win at Cannes. On the one hand, go him! I think he's a very intelligent guy, says things about the world we live in that nobody else will, and he's a wonderful filmmaker. On the downside, I fear he's rapidly at risk of becoming a victim of his own celebrity.

Since I don't actually know many of the films which 'Farenheit 911' were running against, and I've seen even fewer, I'll reserve my judgement as to whether Moore and his crew deserved to win.

Must see this movie though.

Saw Troy at the weekend. Ooh, the shiny-ness. It's pants, by the way.

Sure, it looks gorgeous. It's like Mills and Boon on a budget. The story is a classic, of course, and has been a favourite of mine ever since I watched the RSC perform 'Troilus and Cressida,' and since I read Euripedes' 'Women of Troy.' Romance, honour, sweaty sword fights, what more do you want?

A decent script, for a start. Actors who aren't made of oak. Brad Pitt, your ass has no comparison, but you're more stiff than, well... than Orlando Bloom for a start. Never thought I'd be saying that, but Orli wasn't one of the worst things in this movie!

He did his best, poor love, but he simply needs a lot more maturing before I can take him seriously in a non-action role. But you have to love the look of sheer pleasure on the guy's face when he picks up a bow and arrow towards the end of the movie. "I can DO this!"

Go boy!

Mm. Anyway... am sucking my thumb. This makes it quite hard to type...

Listening to: Christina Aguilera "Stripped"

Quote: "Christopher Judge is a man-train!" - Claire

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton