Funfairs, candy floss, and LOTR
6:47 p.m. on 2003-09-24


Can I just say, when the tv set behind you keeps playing the music from LOTR, but I can`t see said tv screen, it is VERY bloody annoying!

Although should I be worried that I recognise the music from a three second snippet?

Anyways, I am in Santiago, wasting time telling you guys about a day I spent recently in La Serena, Chile. This began with a night bus - never a good thing - so we were pretty tired, but to sleep during the day would screw up our body clocks. So we went to a funfair instead. A really big funfair. There was beer involved, of course. And copious amounts of candy floss.

Why is it boys are so competitive? Give them a gun and a target and they will be there for hours, spending far more money on the pellets than the prize is actually word. "But its the principle of the thing!" Huh?

Then there was the Death Slide. Which was a big, uh, slide. Watching four fully grown men slide down on their asses to a heap at the bottom is pretty funny. Until you become a part of said heap. Then its just painful. No wonder the slide man stopped us from getting all our rides. I think we were scaring small children.

Then we headed down to the beach to watch the sun go down. That was the plan anyway, until the Boys decided they didn`t have enough beer, and since yelling at the Cristal van wasn`t producing any, they might as well go back to the beer tent.

After they bought kites, of course. If there is anything more pathetic than a grown man flying a Superted kite, it is that grown man`s brother dragging a broken Winnie the Pooh kite behind him in the dirt. The string was only about 2 metres long. Very funny! Not that the mother of the two brothers to whom we gave the kites was impressed. "What, only one of them? Now they will fight!"

Fair point, I think.

Anyway, thanks to American Airlines changing my flight details, I am now starting two hours earlier and making an extra stop in Miami. So I leave Santiago, arrive in Miami, spend five hours there, go to Dallas, spend an hour there, go to Chicago, switch planes, go to Heathrow, spend three hours there, then arrive in Manchester Friday morning. My luggage will, no doubt, be in Nepal.

*sigh*

Just don`t give me a baby. Please, Pachamama, don`t give me a baby.

Random thing: eating very good sushi as my last meal in Chile.

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton