Another reason why the world is insane.
5:29 p.m. on 2004-11-25


Long time since I've updated. But there's bugger all to say, really.

Walked past McDonalds today to see the three faces of Destiny's Child peering out at me. There is something very very sick and wrong with a world in which a woman who once proudly declared "I eat only six slices of tomato and four slices of cucumber � and nothing else" for lunch every day, is now the face of a corporation who gets rich from the rising obesity rate amongst kids. And it's all in the name of World Children's Day.

I'll stop whilst you piss/cry yourself laughing.

Meanwhile... nine-year old Maria Isabel, from Spain, won the Junior Eurovision Song Contest the other day singing an ode to make-up. To quote the lyrics...

I'd rather be dead that be plain...
You know, sometimes women need a little
Just a little
Just a little bit of freedom
It helps to give me rhythm
I'm a real little mover...

Nine years old. What are her parents thinking? What are the judges thinking? What were the millions of people who voted her the winner thinking?

Nine year olds should not be wearing make-up. They should not be "a real little mover." They most definitely should not be brought up with "I'd rather be dead than plain" as their life motto.

People call me a cynic. I call myself lazy. See, it's *easy* to be a cynic amongst this insanity. Much easier than being an optimist.

Listening to: Bob Geldof "The Happy Club" (oh the irony)

Quote: "It�s not dog shit Brian, it�s what two-thirds of the world lives on." - Janet Street-Porter to Brian Harvey when he complained about his dinner of rice and beans

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton