Merry Christmas! Look, Santa brought me Dom!
1:42 p.m. on 2003-12-25


It's Christmas day. I should be being sociable and spending time with my family, or at the very least having a shower so I don't continue to smell like 'Ye Olde English Inne' from last night... so I'll just quote my Efan entry:

Quote

Reasons why I love working in the Stockport branch of HMV...

1. Good discount. Great discount.

2. Nice customers.

3. Using my geeky knowledge of movies and anime for good, not evil.

4. Oh yeah, meeting Dominic Monaghan.

I met him today. *giggles like a schoolgirl on acid* I was working at one end of the counter, and out of the corner of my eye I spotted a guy who looked a lot like Dom. Same long, highlighted hair swept over his eyes, same shortish stature... holy SMEG, that is Dom! Eep!

I hurridely got rid of as many customers as I could, hoping he'd come to my til, but alas, he didn't, instead ending up at the assistant manager's til (who had no idea who he was). But Dom had caught me glancing in his direction. As Dom was leaving, I dashed out from behind the counter and bounced in front of him (I do mean bounced)

"Excuse me, sorry for being a geeky fangirl..."

Dom at this point prepared himself for the usual spiel.

"But did you go to Aquinas college?"

Dom looked surprised. "Um, yes."

"And did you have Rick Harris as a theatre studies teacher?"

Dom - "Yes. This is weird. Why, are you in his class?"

Me - "No. I left college about four years ago. But I was in his class. He remembers you."

Dom - "He knows who I am?"

Me - "Well... he knows you were the guy in Hetty Wainthrope. He brags about that. He hasn't actually made the Lord of the Rings connection yet."

Dom - "Sounds like Rick."

Me - "Yeah."

Dom and I shake hands.

Dom - "I'm Dom. Nice to meet you."

Me - "Nice to meet you. Bye!"

Dom - "See you later!"

.... then I spent the next six hours bouncing up and down on my heels wishing every customer a cheery "Hello" like I was souped up on Red Bull. Not even the prospect of a 12 hour shift could dampen my spirits. I met Dom! And I was a geeky fangirl... but I got to surprise him. And he looked fine.

Even if it feels like I may have dreamed/hallucinated me meeting him in a fit of boredom and thus was actually hugging a random customer, or a pillar. Wish I'd asked for an autograph if just to give me more proof than the confused looks of my fellow HMV employees going "Huh? The guy you were talking to was in LOTR? Huh? I thought you just knew him or something."

*dances the dance of joy until her feet fall off*

End quote

I still can't believe it happened. I mean, it's like a happy place brought to life. I have spent many a dull moment idly day dreaming about how I would accidentally bump into a hobbit. Dom being the obvious choice, of course, given that his family live in Stockport. But I never actually thought it would happen. And for it to come so suddenly, so out of the blue, when I was having, well, a shitty day and getting pissed off at customers. And then looking up and seeing a flash of those eyes...

*sighs*

Of course, I didn't imagine it. If I had, then I imagine there would have been less of me quivering like an idiot, and it would have been longer. And featured coffee, and a long chat, and bonding. LOL. So it did happen... I just wish I had some physical proof.

Am half tempted to ask the nice security guys for a copy of the surveillance tape, but I would hate to see me bouncing up like an idiot and making an arse out of myself. Also... a baggy HMV t-shirt does not for an attractive girl make. At least I had tight jeans on but they were covered in mud. And I was wearing festive big red bells for earrings...

Oh well. As several people have said, four hobbits down, three to go. I have also now discovered that a friend of a friend used to play with Dom as little kids, and her brother continues to see him on a regular basis... I am SO becoming a friendship whore! "Hi, we've met a couple of times, but I hear your brother has connections in high places..."

Or not. Yes, reality has hit once more. But hey, at least it's Christmas. I can drown my single sorrows in the tradition of watching Alastair Sim's Christmas Carol, and squeezing my presents until I can guess at the identity of every one.

Plus, I've made up with my friends. Not sure how long it will last... but here's the funny thing. It wasn't Christmas that put me in the forgiving, huggable, regretful type mood. It was a certain gentleman with a foppish fringe and beautiful hands who decided to wander into HMV...

Damn, I wish I could remember what he was wearing. Oh, and that I'd flashed him. Next time...

Rather a long quote, this one:

The Three Wise Men came from the Old Testament,� with big fuckoff beards�
�Oh, Baby G.! We have followed the Star, which was a lamp post for a while, and we went around in circles, but now we�re here. We got a bit pissed somewhere��Somewhere near Birmingham, and now we�re here with presents. Baby G., we bring you gold!�
(sounds of amazement)
�We bring you frankincense.�
(sniffs, expresses pleasure)
�We bring you myrrh��
(undecided sounds)
�Yes, I think that if you rub it on the back of a duck, it goes quite fast, yes? That�s what� Or maybe it�s a small banjo� If you can spell it, you can have it! How about that?�

-Eddie Izzard, Glorious



<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton