All creatures hitherto have created something beyond themselves.
9:03 p.m. on 2004-04-26


My mother was away for the weekend. A blissful few days at home ensued. My sister and I got along wonderfully, bonding over take-away pizza eaten straight out of the box. I watched what tv I wanted, spent time in my room without interuption, downloaded what anime I wanted from the net without anyone nagging at me for slowing the connection down...

Yeah. Bliss.

And now she's returned. And the first thing she says to me is to complain about how when she arrived in the house, the first thing she got was a barrage of complaints from my sister.

So... my sister rants to her, and she rants to me about my sister ranting to her. It's like a big kharmic cycle of rant.

Which means I rant to you guys. Mwhaha.

Another thing that amuses me about my family. My grandfather took a quick trip into hospital today. An emergency at the time, the first thing I knew of it was a phonecall from my mother after I came home from work.

She had THAT voice on. The slightly quavery, gentle voice one would normally use towards small children or puppies. She assures me that everything is okay, that I should phone my grandparents since 'you're old enough now' and I shouldn't panic.

HAH! I'm the sanest member of my family by a long way, and the least likely to panic.

And old enough? At 22 I would hope so.

Turns out my grandfather is fine, as much as you can be when you're 80 years old. But if you were to listen to my mother's phonecall, you'd think he was trapped in the elevator in the Towering Inferno whilst Steve McQueen was off having a fag.

My mother. I love her, I really do, but I swear she'll be the reason I'll end up in therapy thirty years from now, having just ended the last in a long line of failed relationships with superficial toyboys, and having just spent the last of my money on yet another cat I allow to roam my kitchen cupboards and lick foor from my plates.

As for now, I'll just let it all wash over me, and go to my happy place... Elijah? Is that you? And you brought me a vodka cocktail, how sweet...

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton