An impossibly sweet thing...
12:36 p.m. on 2005-01-27


I was sat on the bus about half seven this morning, riding to work in that dazed, still not quite woken up, daydreamy way, when the guy next to me turns round and asks, "Do you shop at Marks and Spencers?"

I blinked, and mumbled "I think so," completely incomprehensibly, given I though he'd asked me an entirely different question ('does this bus go to Marks and Spencers') and I was carrying a Marks and Spencers plastic bag filled with Marks and Spencers goodies at the time.

"No, I mean, do you shop at Marks and Spencers?"

I pulled out my headphones. "Sorry. Yes, I do. Why?"

He handed me over a voucher, one of those 'spend over three quid and get a free smoothie' ones.

"You can have this. Somebody gave it to me but I won't use it."

"Thanks," I said, resisting the urge to ask if the name Danny Wallace rang a bell.

So a stranger on the bus gave me a free shopping voucher. It made me smile in a way that at seven thirty in the morning, on the way to work, it is very hard to do.

Listening to: My Life Story "Holy Deadlock"

Quote: "I try to know as little about my own life as possible."



<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton