Snakeoil and Wolftickets
4:13 p.m. on 2003-05-27


It's a little soon for a new entry, especially given the fact that I have done NOTHING since the last update, but I just have to express how jubilant I am over a new music purchase.

Gary Jules 'Trading Snakeoil for Wolftickets.' The last track is a cover of 'Mad World', from the Donnie Darko soundtrack (and Smallville), and is the reason I bought the album. But the rest of the tracks are just beautiful. He's a folk singer-songwriter, complete with guitar, who comes from L.A. His lyrics are just magical:

"My sister took a picture of God and she floated away..."

"They never tell you to truth is subjective, they only tell you not to lie. They never tell you there is strength in vulnerability, they only tell you not to cry."

I would love to see this guy live, I really would. It's just... wonderful.

In other news, I've finally paid for the full cost of my holiday and flights. Which leaves me somewhat in the red, until I shift some money around. I hold in my hand a receipt for the most amount of money I've ever dolled out in my life. Dear god, I'm determined to enjoy myself in South America if it kills me (which, as Hayley reels off yet another tropical illness I could catch, it might well).

Now my university time is ending there are all sorts of financial considerations I have to think of. Such as upgrading my account to that of a graduate, shifting any savings into a tax-free ISA, packing my stuff into boxes, considering how I'd afford moving out, and of course, getting a job.

But I'm ready. I'm not sure my parents think I am, or rather, they believe I'm not ready... but I am. I want a job, I want to move out, I want to be independent. With them at the end of a phonecall, of course. But oh, to be financially independent, with an actual wage every month.

I also can't wait to finish these exams. Once they're over, after spending the first day catching up on lost sleep and missed tv, I'm going to get down to some serious writing. Force myself to do it, rather than waiting for the mood to strike me. I also have several websites to play with (damn brinkster has the smallest damn bandwidth, so screw them), Spanish to learn, and the guitar to practice. Oh, and to restring... mm...

Listening to: Gary Jules. Duh.

Quote: "They never tell you you don't need to be ashamed, they only tell you to deny. So is it true that only good girls go to heaven? They only sell you what you buy."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton