Phonecalls and old friends
8:09 p.m. on 2005-09-27


I was intending to get a chunk of writing done this evening, in order to update. I've not been updating a fic as often as I would like, but that pesky RL seems to get in the way.

Instead, this evening, I had a long chat, over the phone, with a guy I haven't seen in over two years. We've exchanged the occasional text, and possibly a couple of emails, just enough to keep tabs on each other.

We fell into easy conversation. Jobs, houses, movies, geekdom. We chatted for three times the time that my phone contract gives me every month, but it was worth it.

This guy is one of the sweetest, kindest, gentlest, most genuine people I've ever known. I know it's a classic Oprah line but I do feel priviledged to know him. He's far better than he thinks he is, and he's worth more than he'll ever know.

Sometimes I question whether going to university was worth it, whether spending all that money and time on something which, so far, has left me in no better position to get a worthwhile job, can be justified?

And then I speak to him, or some of the people I met at uni, and I think... yeah. It was totally worth it.

Listening to: Colin Hay "Overkill"

Quote: "That's the thing about faith. If you don't have it, you can't understand it, and if you do, no explanation is neccessary."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton