Happy birthday to me...
7:17 p.m. on 2005-03-28


It's my birthday tomorrow. I'm going to be 23.

Now, aside from dancing about the house singing Billy Bragg's "New England" ("I was twenty one years since I wrote this song, I'm twenty two now but I won't be for long...") I was thinking how I should approach this birthday.

Two options. Either I sink into a chocolate funk over all the flaws in my life (and I know if I tried, I could find plenty) ... or I could celebrate the things I have done in the past twenty three years.

So here goes.

1. Walked in the Inca Trail.
2. Ridden an elephant bareback.
3. Learnt a foreign language.
4. Catalogued the store room of Manchester Museum's Egyptology department.
5. Met all five members of the Barenaked Ladies.
6. Been a runner for a television show.
7. Learnt how to waltz.
8. Eaten eel.
9. Danced the Superman song in front of several hundred people.
10. Been in a band.
11. Visited four continents.
12. Read Plato's Dialogues.
13. Learnt HTML.
14. Written a number of stories.
15. Indirectly broken a bully's toe.
16. Made a number of very close, fantastic friends.
17. Joined Danny Wallace's cult.
18. Scared several celebrities.
19. Been carol singing.
20. Seen a number of rare wild animals.
21. Swam in places I shouldn't.
22. Been a bridesmaid.
23. Skinny dipped.
24. Confused a foreign hairdressers with my poor grasp of Spanish.
25. Had a photo of myself and friends wearing only our bras & knickers published in my university year book.

And a number of other things which currently escape me, but which I'm equally as proud of. Go, life-affirming birthday girl, go!

Listening to: Billy Bragg "New England"

Quote: "In the event of an emergancy my ass can be used as a flotation device."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton