And now the end is near...
9:57 a.m. on 2003-06-29


Not much happening here AT ALL. Uni has officially finished, so everyone has left except for us chumps who are stopping in college until graduation next week, rather than going home. Which means that the mean college in which I live has insisted we all move out of our nice, ensuite rooms to the nasty first year rooms, where there's no internet connection and a shower between 20 people.

The college is quite a big place, and with no parents to take my stuff back I had quite a lot of stuff to shift. Not to worry, since I had Chris and Pet to help me carry - my 'lackeys,' as I told the woman on reception. Unfortunately, we also had Chris and Pet's things to move. And Laura's, since she is in Oxford during the move. And Laura doesn't seem to believe in suitcases, preferring to pack her huge amount of stuff into tiny plastic bags that have a tendency to break.

So there we are, spending all day shifting stuff from one room to another, watching the tourists and conference guests pour into our nice, new, third year rooms. Watching me heft a VCR through the door, one of the more stupid tourists asks me: "Can I have that tv?" Shut up, you stupid little man, I'm hot, tired and sweaty and not in the mood to make niceties with a moron like you. Grrr.

Oh yes, graduation. That means I got my exam results, of course. 2:1, yay! For those of you who don't understand what that means, the top mark you can get is a First, which is 70%. Four people in my year got a First in Philosophy. Then you get a 2:1, which is 60%. Most people I know got a 2:1. Then after 2:1, you get a 2:2 (50%) and then a Third (40%). Anyways, I was hoping for a 2:1 and hurrah! I got one. A low one, having seen the breakdown of my marks, but I somewhat expected that.

So now what? Well, graduation is on Thursday, early in the morning. I have to head down to the Cathedral at some godawful time, like 7am, to be dressed in my robes. Then we troop off to the Cathedral where we hang around for several hours until all the family guests have filed in. Then there are some dumbass speeches, before the Chancellor - Peter Ustinov, huzzah! - hands out 'fake' degrees to everyone. It's going to be very boring and probably very cold. But I get to meet Poirot, if only briefly.

As for in the meantime, without constant internet access I'm forced to remember all the things I used to do before the internet - read, learn Spanish for my hols, write letters to people I should have written to ages ago, oh, and write. Something I haven't done in a while, although I've had a fair few ideas.

Meanwhile, people gradually drift away from uni. I said goodbye to Dan the other day - very sad! Since he lives so far away. And then I'll say goodbye to Becki. And then of course, there are all the people in college with whom I've lived for the past three years. Hayley said she didn't stop crying until Leeds when she left. Aw.... Wonder if I'll do the same?

Listening to: mp3s of Anthony Stewart Head singing 'Sweet Transvestite.'

Quote: "I'm secretly a Russian mail order bride and I make great hamburgers for all you American men."

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton