Day One, Quito, Eucador
9:46 p.m. on 2003-07-29


I hate children.

I don�t care what my mother might like to think, she ain�t ever having grandkids out of me. Being squished between two of them for eight hours is not fun.

Mind you, the kid on the right wasn�t so bad. He only grabbed me a couple of times and was very well behaved. I think his parents were Indian, not sure. But the family on the right of me... grr. The father was possibly Greek, but the mother was American and so were the kids, in every possible way. They were reasonably well behaved, but god did their mother fuss! Constantly rearranging seats, getting them toys, yelling at them, making the baby dance. Of course the baby is crying, you stupid woman, you would too if someone grabbed your limbs and waved them in the air!

Okay. Calm now. The other flights were better. On the one to Miami I ended up sat between an American business man who was going to Miami on business, was reading a novel set in 18th century London, and thought English accents make us all sound posh and educated. Hah! He�s never heard a Scouser. On my right was a Brazilian woman who was returning to Brazil after completing some sort of teaching exam she needs to teach in the States. She had been to Santiago and was giving me advice about what to see and to eat. Then on the plane to Quito I was sat next to a very nice American boy who lived in Washington and was about to graduate in bioengineering, whatever that is. He was visiting family in Quito, like he does every year, so he was very reassuring about the city, and enthusiastic about the New Town, anyways.

So yeah. Think I have managed to avoid jetlag pretty successfully. Feeling very homesick and lonely though. I got excited this morning because I found the Antiques Roadshow on the tv, lol. Can�t wait for the tour to start though. I want to be surrounded by other tourists, damn it!

Listening to: some SA pop music in the internet cafe

Quote: "I�m surrounded by geeks, and I�m the biggest geek of them all!"

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton