SG1, let me count the ways I love you
4:07 p.m. on 2003-09-29


Okay, so I am about to be a little bit of a geek. And a fan. But I would like to tell you all about Peter DeLuise, Robert Cooper, and Brad Wright.

Some time back, in the far off days when Giles was still a cast member, and Buffy was, well, *less* annoying, Joss Whedon used to be my hero. He wrote a fantastic show unlike anything on tv, and whats more important, the cast members loved coming to work there and the writers enthused about their job.

In the world of Hollywood, this is a rare thing indeed.

But Buffy went sour, sometime in the sixth season. Its hard to pinpoint exactly when it jumped the shark, but suffice it to say, when the show ended and the titles reeled for the final time, it was a sense of relief, not sadness, that accompanied the last "Grr, arrgh."

So now I have a new hero. And their collective names are Peter DeLuise Robert Cooper, and Brad Wright - producers, directors and writers of Stargate: SG1. In case you don't know, its based on a movie of the same name, and is about four people who travel the galaxy on behalf of the US government using a portal known as a "Stargate." But I don't watch the show because of the dodgy aliens or the planets that all suspiciously look like a forest in Canada. I watch it for the characters. Their interaction, their friendships, their jokes. The way that, after seven years, they can communicate thoughts and feelings in a single look, or shrug, or raised eyebrow. I watch it because you can tell that the actors are truly enjoying their time at work, and this love transmits itself across the screen.

Not just the actors, either. Sky One just showed a Behind the Scenes show, and its clear that *everyone* who works on the show loves their job. They are approaching their eighth year - a lifetime in terms of televisual entertainment - and they are filled with more enthusiasm and joy than they had in their first year.

I want to be a writer, but I don't *just* want to be a writer. I want to be Peter DeLuise. Or Robert Cooper. Or Brad Wright. I want to be able to create a show where, even after several years, the writers and actors and crew all want to come back, day after day. Where despite the petty squabbles, the mistakes, the stresses, and the insanity of it all, the people working there enjoy themselves. And they keep coming back.

Oh, and most of all, I want to create a show that has fans just as excited as the writers are. I want to inspire fanfic, goddammit!

Perhaps this rant has something to do with the new season of SG1 that starts on Sky One tonight. I swear, if my stepdad hogs the tv blood will be shed. And it ain't gonna be mine.

Meanwhile, back in the real world, I am busying myself with the task of getting a job. I sort of want to put off getting agency work, given that I would rather go straight into a permanent role - and besides, I want to have decorated my room and finished my websites before I become locked to a 9 to 5 role. Don't get me wrong, I am looking forward to working, just not... temping.

Still, my CV is written, thanks mainly to my stepsister and her acting as the devil on my shoulder. Or should that be an angel? Anyways, the next task is to write a whole chunk of letters to accompany the CV. And then post them. And wait...

Listening to: Gorillaz' Clint Eastwood

Quote: "What?! It's my theme tune!"

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton