My love/hate relationship with the internet
1:21 p.m. on 2004-06-30


Sometimes I love the internet.

Oh, quite often I hate it, too. I hate that I've found a site which allows me to download episodes of Jake 2.0 (thus allowing me burnage and to endow them with immorality and shinyness) but it is impossibly slow, thanks to the firewall in my wireless router which I can't figure out how to remove.

I hate that everytime I open IE, my router directs me to a site where I can download a free parental control. I don't want to, now bugger off!

I hate that the internet is full of perverts, and worse - teenybopper fangirls.

I hate it when people insist on creating a website which plays a wav. file upon loading, thus alerting my entire office to my browsing habits.

I hate that nobody seems to want to create wallpapers bigger than 1028, which is tiny on my office screen.

I hate that you need about seven different media players in order to play anything on the internet, because to have one, universal media type would be bad for business.

But I love...

I love that you can buy anything. You want a rare DVD? Cheese shipped from Switzerland? Designer Japanese clothes? Heck, if you can't find it on a proper site, try Ebay.

I love Ebay. I love the eccentricity of people. I love THIS. That people would actually pay MONEY for that.

I love that you can listen to Kurdish radio, or watch a Chinese version of 'The Office,' that you can speak to strangers and view them over webcams, that you can replay the Jonathon Ross radio show whilst checking your emails from your American friends, and buying your christmas presents six months early.

I love that if you have a problem with your computer, or, in last night's case, your Ipod, you can throw a few things across the room (like I'd ever do that.... eh heh) and then you can go online, find an Ipod forum, and ask for expert help. I love that within a matter of hours, some person far more savvy than me has replied, and provided me with the exact answer that eluded all my efforts.

Yes. I fixed my Ipod, sent off my emails, logged out of Amazon, picked up the crap from my floor, and relaxed.

All is well in the world.

Listening to: Virgin Classic Rock

Quote: "Why do I feel like I'm in a 'woman behind bars' movie?"

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton