Talking with strangers
2:27 p.m. on 1980-01-05


Feeling much more confident today. Okay, I wasn�t in the morning, and indulged in an MSN conversation with Rob. But then I returned to the hotel to be advised as to where my new room is - which is a proper family room, so I�m assuming I will meet my roommates later today. And then I had lunch at the Magic Bean, where a very nice American lady whose name I never asked (why is it strangers can conduct entire conversations with each other but never perform the nicetie of exchanging names?) sat down at my table.

She was a student-come-researcher who was studying sociology and was doing research for her dissertation and PhD on the impact of oil lines here in Ecuador and Columbia. She had been to SA several times previously in a research capacity, and had also lived in Bangkok for a year. Anyways, we talked about travelling, how some countries are �easier� than others in terms of transport and eating, and about the tv industry in the US. Its possible I slightly shocked her by revealing just how much I know about the US tv industry, compared to her. But then, she knows a hell of a lot more about travelling than I do.

Anyway, it was nice to talk to someone in anything other than a few stumbling words of Spanish.

Last night cable tv was once more my friend. Watched an episode of Birds of Prey - very uninspiring, I can see why it was cancelled. Then an episode of the Dead Zone, which was really intruiging - can�t wait for a UK terrestrial channel to pick it up - but I was knackered and fell asleep half way through it.

Yes folks, I�m in South America, thousands of miles from my home, and I�m talking about cable tv. Which reminds me of another interesting show, whose name I can�t currently remember. It was produced by Jerry Bruckheimer and was about a team investigating cases of missing people. Anyways, that was pretty good, even if it is simply a new take on the whole, cop-case show that Law and Order and CSI have started.

Oh yeah. Ecuador. Ah... well, its suddenly colder, I suspect its going to rain, and my jasmine tea is going cold.

Random thing: Spanish Simpsons. Scary.

<< >>

Newer
Older
Even Older
Really frikkin old
South America
In the Beginning
D-Land
Profile
Guestbook
E-mail
------------------------
Kennedy High
Stories
The Faculty 2
CD Collection
------------------------
Wishlist-co.uk
Wishlist-com
------------------------
Sandra
Mithu
The Chans
Quilted
------------------------
Elijahfan
TWoP
Exile Inside
Tom McRae
Stargatefan
Due South
TORN
Red Meat
Get Fuzzy
Eddie Izzard
Michael Moore
Wil Wheaton